banned books.

Hi Everyone!

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend, I’ve started the week off with a total re-organization of my apartment! I also changed up the colors of my room to be more bright and airy, rather than the funky and quirky designs I usually go for.  Sometimes you just need to break out of your shell and do something different for once!

Today’s post is about being restricted, we should have the right to have our own opinion and be able to have a voice (without deliberately being hurtful or disrespectful of course!).  And so I present you with a quote from one of my all time favorite children’s books, In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak.  This book was banned due to some of the illustrations depicting nudity. However, it also won a Caldecott Medal, which awards authors each year for an outstanding children’s book publication.  Even with all the controversy, you should take a look if you ever see it in stores, it’s great! I can still hear my Mom and I now, reciting the story together.

Have a great week!

WJ&J

night kitchen

Leave a Reply

